Cadratin - Jean-Renaud Dagon

This book marks the anniversary of 25 years of activity at Le Cadratin and presents, year by year, all of the titles printed under the watchful gaze of its exacting founder. Each chapter is embellished with photos, extracts from published articles and photographic reminders of events that have punctuated the life of the workshop.

Le Cadratin represents the passion of its founder, Jean-Renaud Dagon, guardian of this vast collection of printing heritage. Le Cadratin was created in 1988, at Clarens, in a space of 40m2. It all started with 2 presses and a few drawers of lead characters. Several years later, Le Cadratin moved to Vevey, Quai Perdonnet, taking over the premises, and purchasing the material that was Imprimerie Liard. Over time, authors and publishers of note have trusted the realisation of their works to this creative and attentive workshop; encouraged by the fine workmanship. With time, the workshop continued to acquire printing materials and fonts to further expand the heritage preserved within its walls. These days, Le Cadratin is situated at 10 Rue de la Madeleine, Vevey; an area of 300m2, entirely dedicated to typography. The larger area has allowed the preservation of an exceptional quantity of material that would otherwise be destined for scrap: Linotypes, printing presses, binding machines. During 25 years of activity, more than 100 titles have left the presses of Le Cadratin. The 25th anniversary is the moment that has been chosen to collate these works and create a tangible memory of a period of rich activity. A diversity of themes and authors abounds, of particular note: Maurice Chappaz, Aimé Corbaz, Corti, Anne Cuneo, Nancy Huston and Marcel Imsand.

Jean-Renaud Dagon
An artisan with a passion for books that possess a charm and quality from another time, with a love of traditional techniques, Jean-Renaud Dagon is a letterpress printer by trade and can claim forty years of experience in his profession. Throughout the 25 years that Le Cadratin has existed, this disciple of Gutenberg has formed important links in the world of typography and believes strongly in the preservation of the integrity of the French language. His passion and his talent were recognised in 2012 when he was named "Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres" by the French Minister of Culture in recognition for his contribution to the fields of art and literature.

  • Author: Dagon, Jean-Renaud
  • Published: 2014
  • Examples: 500
  • Pages: 160
  • Width: 230 mm
  • Height: 320 mm
  • Depth: 18 mm
  • Weight: 1015 g
  • Printing method: Letterpress / offset
  • Language: French
  • L-107

  • Availability: In Stock

40.00 CHF

PayPal

Cadratin - Jean-Renaud Dagon

Ce livre marque les 25 ans d’activité de l’Atelier typographique Le Cadratin. Il présente, année après année, tous les ouvrages imprimés au Cadratin. Les chapitres sont agrémentés de photos, d’extraits d’articles de presse et de rappels des événements marquants de la vie de l’atelier. Le Cadratin est né d’une passion, celle de son fondateur, Jean-Renaud Dagon, conservateur de ce lieu magique abritant un patrimoine de grande valeur.

Le Cadratin est créé en 1988, à Clarens dans un espace de 40m2. Jean-Renaud Dagon débute avec deux presses et quelques casses de caractères en plomb. Quelques années plus tard, Le Cadratin déménage à Vevey, au Quai Perdonnet, reprenant  les locaux et rachetant le matériel de l’imprimerie Liard. Au fil des ans, des auteurs et éditeurs de renom confient la réalisation de leurs ouvrages à cet atelier créatif et soucieux de la bien-facture de chaque imprimé réalisé en ses murs. Avec le temps, l’atelier fait l’acquisition de matériel d’impression et de polices de caractères destinés à compléter son patrimoine. À ce jour, Le Cadratin est situé au numéro 10 de la Rue de la Madeleine à Vevey, dans un espace de 300m2  entièrement voué à la typographie. La surface ainsi agrandie permet de sauvegarder un patrimoine exceptionnel et de préserver du matériel généralement destiné à la casse, tel que linotype, machines à coudre, relieuses. En vingt-cinq années d’activité, plus de cent ouvrages sont sortis des presses du Cadratin. C’est le moment choisi pour recenser ces divers titres et créer ainsi un recueil complet, souvenir tangible d’une belle et riche activité. La diversité des thèmes abordés, traitée par autant d’auteurs différents - notamment Maurice Chappaz, Aimé Corbaz, Corti, Anne Cuneo, Nancy Huston et Marcel Imsand - mérite qu’on lui consacre un ouvrage tout entier.

Jean-Renaud Dagon
Artisan passionné par les livres possédant la qualité et le charme d’autrefois, amoureux de l’impression traditionnelle, Jean-Renaud Dagon est conducteur typographe de formation et totalise quarante ans d’expérience dans son métier. Tout au long des vingt-cinq années d’existence du Cadratin, ce disciple de Gutenberg a su tisser des liens privilégiés dans le monde de la typographie et s’est illustré comme défenseur de la langue française. Sa passion et son talent ont été récompensés, en 2012, lorsqu’il a été nommé Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres de la République Française.

  • Auteur : Dagon, Jean-Renaud
  • Date de parution : 2014
  • Tirage : 500
  • Nombre de pages : 160
  • Largeur : 230 mm
  • Hauteur : 320 mm
  • Epaisseur : 18 mm
  • Poids : 1015 g
  • Impression : Typographie / offset
  • Langue : Français
  • L-107

  • Disponibilité : en stock

40.00 CHF

PayPal